• Calling BS: The GY6 engine can't reach 12,000rpm, can it?

• Have a controversial viewpoint related to the sport? Turn up your BS meter, raise your red flag, and hash out your buggy gripes and pet peeves here! Keep it reasonably civil, and present your case!
November 2019 Forum Retirement
Due to lack of extra personal time (and too much spam), I'm retiring the forum and setting it to a read-only state. No new registrations or posts will be accepted as of 11/09/19. However, all information will stay up and searchable. If you spend a few minutes searching, you'll find the answers you're looking for. We may re-open the forum next spring.
Have a controversial viewpoint related to the sport? Turn up your BS meter, raise your red flag, and hash out your buggy gripes and pet peeves here! Keep it reasonably civil, and present your case!
 #11928  by CheethaSpeed
 Sat Apr 07, 2018 8:43 pm
I’m not an expert like you but I’m not sure I’d be telling people they should expect 12,000 rpm from any stock gy6. It would be a fluke and not typical. I’d believe your custom build, but stock :roll: I guess if you could find a long enough down hill run then maybe you could get a stock gy close or in neutral

I’ve been around a few and none got much more than half that rpm in my limited experience. But that’s just a dozen or so. I’m sure you see thousands. Maybe the 12 or so I rode were all duds